spring · Uncategorized

Oversized metal buckets!

Hi friends,

For today’s post, I thought I would mix it up a little bit and share a couple of my new favorite things…faux florals and metal buckets. And this post is a bit longer than an average post! I really wanted to share my little story of incorporating flowers into my home!

To start off, I don’t have a green thumb (not even close!) But a while ago, I discovered the whole range of faux florals they have at Michael’s. I feel like there’s really a whole range in price, including some silk-like flowers! One thing I’ve discovered are that there are some really really great, affordable and yet realistic looking florals there! I also feel like that the best time to stock up on faux florals is when they have a big floral sale (like now for the beginning of Spring!) because most of the faux florals were 40% which is such a great deal, especially if you need a whole bunch! And so I really wanted a fun new D.I.Y. project to embark on, I just wasn’t sure what…yet!

And then came the vintage-styled metal bucket. I feel like keeping in with the farmhouse style, I’ve been seeing oversized metal buckets…everywhere! And I like how versatile and also classic looking they can be…from wall sconces to centerpieces! This one is from a small vintage shop and is meant for the floor or table, but the Metal Bucket with Holder from Magnolia Market is also a really cool change from traditional wall sconces and two would look so great on either side of an oversized window filled with your favorite faux floral or plant! (I’ve already said faux floral too much lol)

My oversized metal bucket! I’m in love with the look of it!

1

Also link to the Metal Bucket with Holder from Magnolia Markethttps://shop.magnoliamarket.com/products/metal-bucket-w-holder

But when I initially bought bucket (which is pretty large!), I originally just thought I would fill it oversized cotton stems or dried lavender and it would make such a refreshing addition for Spring. What I quickly learned is that to fill a really large metal bucket you need a TON of stems and I quickly learned that wasn’t really the more affordable choice…so I’ve improvised bit and went to Michael’s to explore a bit.

Bucket with only about 10 flower stems:

2

They have a huge selection of Spring florals at Michael’s like I know I’ve already said…but I feel in love with their collection of faux hydrangeas! They come in just about every color in the rainbow and they took up so much space in the bucket, so at least I wouldn’t need as many. They’re also super easy to cut down, and was able to just use the markers on the stem to cut them down a bit with pruning sheers (wire cutters work too)!

But when I went back to Michael’s in order to fill it up a bit more…I discovered a whole new world of flowers! Instead of just getting one type, one style, or one color I decided to play around a bit and try daisies, a bit of greenery, and even some roses to give the oversized bouquet some fun!

Flower trimming in progress:

3

So I mixed and matched and think they turned out great…and I love a bouquet that works for summer too!

Here’s the first look:

4

And once filled up:

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It’s a whole lot of trial and error but they turned out pretty cool…show me your spring bouquets too!

Much love,

Liz

Leave a Reply

