Uncategorized

Farmhouse barrel planting 

Hi friends,

Today I thought I would mix the theme up a bit and share a little about…farmhouse gardening! 

Right from the start, I knew I wanted something a little bit different in terms of style (something a bit farmhouse rustic!) and new barrel planting was the way to go. There’s a ton of really great options online (Amazon), Home Depot, and the options I really loved at Lowes

Here’s the exact link for the wood barrel planter I bought at Lowes (I ended up getting 2!) and I just love the rustic, farmhouse look of it: https://m.lowes.com/pd/Garden-Treasures-25-98-in-x-16-93-in-Carbonize-Wood-Barrel/50328489

They don’t appear to be available online but I still saw a whole bunch in the outdoor gardening section, and they come in varying sizes. 

If you go with the large barrel, I ended up using about 1 and 1/2 to 2 large bags of soil because I really wanted small plants (that spread) right at the top, with a plan of having them sort of cascade over the top and sizes of the barrel. 

And I started off with a large palm in the middle of each barrel and used an assorted collection of small, colorful flowers that would really spread, (think daisies) and they’ve been super low maintence, just needed sunshine and fresh water every couple of days or so. 

Have a great day! 

Much love,

Liz 

Leave a Reply

